Daily Archives: May 25, 2011

Terms of endearment

One thing that really is the fundamental principle in international adoption (there are many, believe me), is first of all the misconception that children and infants available for adoption are orphans. Well, that’s not entirely true chances are they may have at least on parent alive somewhere.

Secondly, in international adoption the prospective parents usually have to pay huge amounts of money in order to become a parent to someone else’s child. I know children are expensive, but usually you don’t need to pay hundreds of thousands in one go just to iniate a pregnancy (I use the word pregnancy even though the adoptive parents don’t get pregnant).

And then what about all these different nicknames like bundle of joy, apple of my eye…

imported baby…

I know my adoptive parents love me, I do but at the same time I’m aware of the fact that they had to take a huge loan in order to become my parents. Maybe they didn’t really pay for me, but more for the services that was preformed in order to achive my adoption.

I really do think my adoptive parents did take the easy road, since they had all the fun while my birth parents was left with separation and were stolen of so many things like my childhood, and my upbringing, my love while my siblings which I know I have was equally as harmed.

Now we don’t speak the same language any more, and the natural bond you get in a family naturally , that I don’t have with my siblings. I’m afraid I might have painted myself into a corner already, but to rectify the situation I have selected a few fairly recent posts from my other blog:

 http://kimchisamgyeopsal.blogspot.com/2011/05/right-left-right-right.html as well as http://kimchisamgyeopsal.blogspot.com/2011/05/dont-push-it.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Adoption, Allude, Hic et nunc