Daily Archives: May 16, 2011

Big families – a cultural thing ?

I do honestly believe 100 % that there is no need for couples in the Western World to reproduce and have 10 or more children. With need I mean that their survivial isn’t depending on a male heir, nor is it society’s expectations that dictates the conditions. But truth is that in many cultures (Asia, Middle East and Africa) you need a son for your future basic survival. While the Western World has things like elderly care and state pensions and so on.

So I suspect that people who decide to have big families do so because of selfishness, because to me having children is a selfish thing even though it also is a biological need… But okay, two people that loves each other usually wants to have at least one child and that would be totally fine, two makes no difference, up to three would be acceptable, 4 would be allright, 5 would be stretching it but 6 would be the limit.

 Then again a family with many children does what every politician wants ensure that there’s someone to look after them in their old age… And then there’s also the taxes I suppose..

But I can’t stop people from doing what they want with their lives, how they want to live them is totally up to them. I just want to present some of my thoughts and opinions… that’s all, people.

But which is worse raising spoiled children (due to the one child family policy) or having a really big family with over 6 children?

Leave a comment

Filed under Allude, Hic et nunc, Hot topic